## **RBI Governor List of India**

The Reserve Bank of India was established on 1 April, 1935 as per the provision of the Reserve Bank of India Act 1934. RBI has 27 regional offices and 4 sub-offices. It has four training establishments namely, RBI Academy, College of Agricultural Banking, Reserve Bank of India Staff College, Institute for Development and Research in Banking Technology (IDRBT). The main functions of RBI is

- 1. Formulates, implements and monitors the monetary policy.
- 2. Regulate and supervise the financial system.
- 3. Manages the foreign exchange and external trade market in India.
- 4. Issues, exchanges and destroys currency notes as well as puts into circulation coins minted by Government of India.
- 5. Performs a wide range of promotional functions to support national objectives.
- 6. Regulator and supervisor of payment and settlement systems
- 7. Maintains banking accounts of all scheduled banks.

## The RBI Governor and Deputy Governor list is given below.

Shri Shaktikanta Das is the governor of RBI from December 12, 2018 to present, Shri M.K. Jain, Dr. M.D. Patra, Shri M. Rajeshwar Rao, and Shri T. Rabi Sankar are the deputy governor of Reverse Bank of India.

S.No	Name	Post	Phone Number
1	Shaktikanta	Governor	22661872
	Das		governor@rbi.org.in
2	M. K. Jain	Deputy	22611097
		Governor	dgmkj@rbi.org.in
3	Dr. M. D.	Deputy	22610405
	Patra	Governor	dgmdp@rbi.org.in
4	M. Rajeshwar	Deputy	22621382
	Rao	Governor	dgmrr@rbi.org.in
5	T. Rabi Sankar	Deputy	22624090
		Governor	dgtrs@rbi.org.in

## RBI Governor List with their Tenure

The Governor of the RBI is the chief executive officer of India's central bank and the ex-officio chairman of its Central Board of Directions. Indian Rupee currency notes, issued by the RBI, bear the governor's signature. Complete RBI Governor List fro1935 to 2022 is given below.

<b>5</b>				
S.No	Name of Governor	Tenure		
1	Sir Osborne Smith	April 1, 1935 – June 30, 1937		
2	Sir James Braid Taylor	July 1, 1937 – February 17, 1943		
3	Sir C.D. Deshmukh	August 11, 1943 – June 30, 1949		
4	Sir Bengal Rama Rau	July 1, 1949 – January 14, 1957		
5	K.G. Ambegaonkar	January 14, 1957 – February 28, 1957		
6	H.V.R Lyengar	March 1, 1957 – February 28, 1962		
7	P.C Bhattacharya	March 1, 1962 – June 30, 1967		
8	L.K. Jha	July 1, 1967 – May 3, 1970		
9	B.N. Adarkar	May 4, 1970 – June 15, 1970		
10	S. Jagannathan	June 16, 1970 – May 19, 1975		
11	N.C. Sen Gupta	May 19, 1975 – August 19, 1975		
12	K.R. Puri	August 20, 1975 – May 2, 1977		
13	M. Narasimham	May 3, 1977 – November 30, 1977		
14	I.G. Patel	December 1, 1977 – September 15, 1982		
15	Manmohan Singh	September 16, 1982 – January 14, 1985		
16	Amitav Gosh	January 15, 1985 – February 4, 1985		

17	R.N. Malhotra	February 4, 1985 – December 22, 1990
18	S. Vpnldraramanan	December 22, 1990 – December 21, 1992
19	C. Rangarajan	December 22, 1992 – November 21, 1997
20	Bimal Jalan	November 22, 1997 – September 6, 2003
21	Y.V. Reddy	September 6, 2003 – September 5, 2008
22	D. Subbarao	September 5, 2008 – September 4, 2013
23	Raghuram G. Raj an	September 4, 2013 – September 4, 2016
24	Urjit Ravindra Patel	September 4, 2016 – December 10,2018
25	Shaktikanta Das	December 12, 2018 – to Present

For more details visit <a href="https://sarkarilist.in/rbi-governor-list/">https://sarkarilist.in/rbi-governor-list/</a>