FATF Grey List Countries 2022 and Financial Action Task Force Black List

Check out FATF Grey List and List of Countries in FATF Black List which are non-cooperative in the global fight against money laundering and terrorist financing, Also check Financial Action Task Force FATF Members List and FATF Observer Organization List

FATF Grey List:- The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) is inter-governmental organization which is established in 1989 by a Group of G-7 Summit in Paris to guard and monitor illegal activities like global money laundering and terrorist financing. The FATF has set some FAFT recommendations and standards to prevent and curtail organized crime, corruption an terrorism, criminals dealing in illegal drugs, human trafficking and other crimes. FATF also works to stop funding of weapons of mass destruction.

The countries that are giving shelter to terrorists, and criminals dealing in illegal drugs, human trafficking and supporting terror funding and money laundering are put in Grey List of FATF

Organization Name Financial Action Task Force (FATF)
Formation 1989
Motive Combat money laundering and terrorism financing
Headquarters Paris (France)
Member Countries 39+1
President T. Raja Kumar (Singapore)
Vice - President Elisa de Anda Madrazo (Mexico)
Executive SecretaryViolaine Clerc
Deputy Executive SecretaryVincent Schmoll
FATF Grey List Click Here
FATF Black List Click Here
Website www.fatf-gafi.org
Financial Action Task Force (FATF) Overview

FATF Grey List 2022 Countries

As on 2 August, there were 21 countries in the FATF Grey List. The countries that are giving shelter to terrorists, and criminals dealing in illegal drugs, human trafficking and supporting terror funding and money laundering are put in Grey List of FATF. The inclusion in Grey List serves as a warning to the country that it may enter the blacklist of Financial Action Task Force.

Pakistan has been in the FATF grey list since June 2018. In the case of Pakistan, it first entered the list in 2008, and comes out of FATF grey list and again was on it from 2012 to 2015. Since 2018, it has not been removed from FATF grey list. The FATF had issued the 27-point action plan after placing Pakistan on the ‘FATF Grey List’ in June 2018. The action plan pertains to curbing money laundering and terror financing. FATF Grey List Includes Syria, Jamaica, Pakistan, Jordan, South Sudan, The Complete List of Countries FATF Grey List is given below.

  1. Albania
  2. Barbados
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Cambodia
  5. Cayman Islands
  6. Haiti
  7. Jamaica
  8. Jordan
  9. Mali
  10. Morocco
  11. Myanmar
  12. Nicaragua
  13. Pakistan
  14. Panama
  15. Philippines
  16. Senegal
  17. South Sudan
  18. Syria
  19. Turkey
  20. United Arab Emirates
  21. Uganda
  22. Yemen

FATF Black List

The FATF Blacklist is issued by the Financial Action Task Force organization in 2000 and the countries which FATF judges to be non-cooperative in the global fight against money laundering and terrorist financing, these countries which are High-risk Jurisdiction and Non-Cooperative Countries or Territories" (NCCTs) are put in the Black List and call for action nations by the FATF. Currently two countries are in FATF Black List.

  1. North Korea
  2. Iran

To get out of the FATF Grey List, a country has to fulfill the tasks recommended by the Financial Action Task Force, for instance, confiscating properties of individuals associated with terrorist groups. If the FATF is satisfied with the progress, it removes the country from the FATF grey list. The FATF most recently took Zimbabwe, and before that Botswana and Mauritius, off the FATF grey list.

FATF Members List

The Objective of FATF is to monitor countries to ensure that they are implementing the FATF standards and recommendations, and take regulatory actions for combating money laundering, terrorist funding and other related threats to the integrity of the international financing system. FATF trains officials in anti-money laundering and counter-terrorist financing techniques. The FATF brings together a global network of more than 200 countries and jurisdictions. The FATF has almost 40 members and 20 observer organization it includes regional anti-money laundering bodies (FSRBs), The United Nations, The Egmont Group of Financial Intelligence Units, The International Monetary Fund and many other international organizations.

AustraliaRepublic of Korea
CanadaKingdom of Netherlands
ChinaNew Zealand
European CommissionPortugal
FinlandRussian Federation
FranceSaudi Arabia
GreeceSouth Africa
Gulf Co-operation CouncilSpain
Hong Kong, ChinaSweden
IrelandUnited Kingdom
IsraelUnited States
ItalyIndonesia (FATF Observer)
FATF Members List

FATF Observer Organization List

  1. African Development Bank
  2. Anti-Money Laundering Liaison Committee of the Franc Zone
  3. Asian Development Bank
  4. Basel Committee on Banking Supervision (BCBS)
  5. Camden Asset Recovery Inter-agency Network (CARIN)
  6. Egmont Group of Financial Intelligence Units
  7. European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
  8. European Central Bank (ECB)
  9. Eurojust
  10. Europol
  11. Group of International Finance Centre Supervisors (GIFCS)
  12. Inter-American Development Bank (IDB)
  13. International Association of Insurance Supervisors (IAIS)
  14. International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  15. International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO)
  16. Interpol
  17. Organization of American States / Inter-American Committee Against Terrorism (OAS/CICTE)
  18. Organization of American States / Inter-American Drug Abuse Control Commission (OAS/CICAD)
  19. Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  20. Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)
  21. United Nations
    • United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
    • United Nations Counter-Terrorism Committee Executive Directorate (UNCTED)
    • The Expert Group to the Security Council Committee
    • The Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team
    • Security Council Subsidiary Organs Branch
    • Panel of Experts to the Security Council Committee
  22. World Bank
  23. World Customs Organization

Read : G7 Countries List of World’s Advanced Economics

Is India Member of FATF

Yes, India has been a member of the FATF since 2010.

Where is the Headquarters of FATF

The Headquarters of FATF is in Paris, France

What is FATF Black List

FATF Black List is the list of countries that are Non-Cooperative Countries or Territories (NCCTs). These countries support terror funding and money laundering activities. Currently, two countries Iran and North Korea are under High-risk Jurisdiction or FATF Black list.

What is FATF Grey List

FATF Grey List means FATF has placed a country under increased monitoring to check its progress on measures against money laundering and terrorism financing. Currently Albania, Barbados, Burkina Faso, Cambodia; Cayman Islands; Haiti, Jamaica, Jordan, Mali, Morocco, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Pakistan, Panama ,Philippines, Senegal, South Sudan ,Syria Turkey ,United Arab Emirates, Uganda, Yemen are in FATF Grey List.

Leave a Comment