ISRO Chairman List

ISRO Chairman List 2022 PDF | ISRO First Chairman | ISRO Scientist Name List 2022 | ISRO Chairman Salary

The Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation is the statutory head of the India Space Research Organisation (ISRO). The officeholder is a secretary to the Government of India and an executive of the Department of Space which directly reports to the Prime Minister of India.

The India National Committee for Space Research (INCOSPAR) was founded in 1962 under Department of Atomic Energy with Vikram Sarabhai as its chairperson which in 1969 become ISRO. In 1972 the government of India had set up a space commission and DoS and brought ISRO under the DoS.

ISRO Chairman List

The first chairman of the ISRO was Dr. Vikram Sarabhai and complete ISRO Chairman List is given below.

       ISRO Chairman        Tenure    Lengh of Term
1.  Vikram Sarabhai From 1963 to 1972 9 years
2. M. G. K. Menon From Jan. 1972 to Sept. 1972 9 months
3. Satish Dhawan From 1972 to 1984 12 years
4. Prof. U R Rao From 1984 to 1994 10 years
5. K. Kasturirangan From 1994 to 2003 9 years
6. G. Madhavan Nair From 2003 to 2009 6 years
7. K. Radhakrishnan From 2009 to 2014 5 years
8. Shailesh Nayak From 1 Jan. 2015 to 12 Jan. 2015 12 days
9. A. S. Kiran Kumar From 2015 to 2018 3 years
10. K. Sivan From Jan 2018 Till date incumbent
ISRO Chairman List

Check Former Chairmen details at Department of Space, India Research Organisation official website

Read : List of Satellites Launched By India 1975 to 2022

Leave a Comment