Assam Chief Ministers List Since 1946 to 2024 With Party Name

Assam Chief Ministers list with party name since 1946 to 2024, Shri Gopinath Bordoloi was the first CM of Assam state from Indian National Congress party

Assam Chief Ministers List: The chief minister of Assam is the head of Assam state government. The governor appoints the CM, whose council of ministers are collectively responsible to the assembly. The list of Assam Chief Ministers since 1946 to 2024 is given below.

Since 1946, Assam state has had 21 CM, eleven of these belongs to the Indian National Congress. Gopinath Bordoloi was the first chief minister of Assam and Anwara Taimur India's 1st female muslim chief minister.

Assam Chief Ministers List

The below list of Assam Chief Ministers since 1946 to 2024.

Chief Minister Name FromToParty
Gopinath BordoloiFeb. 11, 1946 Aug. 6, 1950INC
Bishnu Ram MedhiAug. 6, 1950Dec. 27, 1957INC
Bimala Prasad ChalihaDec. 28, 1957Nov. 6, 1970INC
Mahendra Mohan ChoudhryNov. 11, 1970Jan. 30, 1972INC
Sarat Chandra SinhaJan. 31, 1972Mar. 12, 1978INC
Golap BorboraMar. 12, 1978Sep. 4, 1979JNP
Jogendra Nath HazarikaSep. 9, 1979Dec. 11, 1979JNP
President's Rule Dec. 12, 1979Dec. 5, 1980
Anowara TaimurDec. 6, 1980June 30, 1981INC
President's RuleJune 30, 1981Jan. 13, 1982
Kesab Chandra GogoiJan. 13, 1982Mar. 19, 1982INC
President's RuleMar. 19, 1982Feb. 27, 1983
Hiteswar SaikiaFeb. 27, 1983Dec. 23, 1985INC
Prafulla Kumar MahantaDec. 24, 1985Nov. 28, 1990AGP
President's RuleNov. 28, 1990Jun. 30, 1991
Hiteswar SaikiaJun. 30, 1991Apr. 22, 1996INC
Bhumidhar BarmanApr. 28, 1996May 14, 1996INC
Prafulla Kumar MahantaMay 15, 1996May 17, 2001AGP
Tarun GogoiMay 17, 2001May 24, 2016INC
Sarbananda SonowalMay 24, 201610 May 2021BJP
Himanta Biswa Sarma10 May 2021 PresentBJP
Assam Chief Ministers List

List of Assam CM'S 1946 to 2024

Assam Chief Ministers list with name & photo can be check below link.

Read : Prime Ministers of India List.