Assam District List 2024 with Area, Population and Division Name

Check Assam District List with all details of their area, population, literacy rate and division name, Also check list of new formed districts in Assam state

Assam District List: Assam state is formed on 26 January 1950. Assam is located in northeastern India at 22°19' to 28°16' Latitude and 89°42' to 96°30' Longitude. Assam share boundaries with Bhutan and Arunachal to the north, Nagaland and Manipur to the east, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram and Bangladesh to the south and west Bengal to the West.

Assam has total 35 districts, having total area of 78,438 km2 with 31,169,272 population with a literacy rate of 72.19%. The special feature of Assam state is that it contains three physiographic divisions, the Northern Plains, Northern Himalayas, and Deccan Plateau. Assam District List is given below.

Name of StateAssam
Formation 26 January 1950
Capital Dispur
Official Language Assamese and Bodo
Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma
GovernorJagdish Mukhi
Assam Cabinet Minister List 2024Click Here
Assam Chief Ministers List Click Here
Official Website
Assam State Overview

Assam District List

Dispur is the capital of Assam state. Before 15 August 2015, there were only 27 district in Assam state after that 5 new district were formed which make number of district to 32. The five new district were Biswanath, Charaideo, Hojai, South Salmara-Mankachar and West Karbi Anglong. The 33th district is Majuli which was formed on 27 june 2016, and 34th district is Bajali which was foremd from Barpeta district on 12 January 2021 and 35th district is Tamulpur which was formed on 23rd January 2022. Assam District List with their area, population and name of division is given below

S.NODistrict Name Division PopulationArea (km²)
1BaksaLower Assam560,9251,573
2BajaliLower Assam253,816418
3BarpetaLower Assam1,439,8062,764
4BiswanathNorth Assam612,4911,100
5BongaigaonLower Assam738,8041,093
6CacharBarak Valley1,736,3193,786
7CharaideoUpper Assam471,4181,069
8ChirangLower Assam482,1621,170
9DarrangNorth Assam928,5001,585
10DhemajiUpper Assam686,1333,237
11DhubriLower Assam1,394,1441,608
12DibrugarhUpper Assam1,326,3353,381
13Dima HasaoCentral Assam214,1024,890
14GoalparaLower Assam1,008,1831,824
15GolaghatUpper Assam1,066,8883,502
16HailakandiBarak Valley659,2961,327
17HojaiCentral Assam931,2181,686
18JorhatUpper Assam924,9522,851
19Kamrup MetropolitanLower Assam1,253,9381,528
20Kamrup Rural Lower Assam1,517,5423,105
21Karbi AnglongCentral Assam660,9557,366
22KarimganjBarak Valley1,228,6861,809
23KokrajharLower Assam887,1423,169
24LakhimpurUpper Assam1,042,1372,277
25MajuliUpper Assam167,304880
26MorigaonCentral Assam957,4231,704
27NagaonCentral Assam1,892,5502,287
28NalbariLower Assam771,6392,257
29SivasagarUpper Assam679,6322,668
30SonitpurNorth Assam1,311,6192,076
31South Salmara-MankacharLower Assam555,114568
32TamulpurLower Assam389,150884
33TinsukiaUpper Assam1,327,9293,790
34UdalguriNorth Assam831,6881,852
35West Karbi AnglongCentral Assam295,3583,035
Assam District List

Assam District and Division List 2024

S.NODivision NameDivisional OfficeName of Districts
1Barak ValleySilcharCachar, Hailakandi, and Karimganj
2Central AssamNagaonDima Hasao, Hojai, East Karbi Anglong, West Karbi Anglong, Morigaon, and Nagaon
3Lower AssamGuwahatiBaksa, Bajali, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Chirang, Dhubri, Goalpara, Nalbari, Kamrup Metropolitan, Kamrup Rural, Kokrajhar, and South Salmara-Mankachar
4North AssamTezpurBiswanath, Darrang, Sonitpur, and Udalguri
5Upper AssamJorhatCharaideo, Dhemaji, Dibrugarh, Golaghat, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Majuli Sivasagar, and Tinsukia
Assam District List with Division

Also Check

Holiday List 2022 Assam | Government Restricted Holidays and PDF Calendar 2022