Hockey World Cup Winners List [Men’s and Women’s Team]

The 15 edition of Men's Hockey World Cup 2023 will held in India from 13 January to 19 January, Check below Hockey World Cup Winners List from 1971 to 2023, Download hockey world cup winners list Pdf for both men's and women's tournaments

Hockey World Cup Winners List: Hockey World Cup is organized by International Hockey Federation once every four year since 1974. Till now 14 editions of this tournaments has held for men's and 15 editions of women's hockey world cup so far. In Men's tournaments, Pakistan is most successful winning 4 titles and in Women's tournaments, Netherlands is most successful winning the men's hockey world cup title for 9 times.

India has won only one hockey world cup title in 1975. India was runner-up in 1973 and finished at 3rd position in 1971. The first 3 tournament were held at a gap of 2 years. Later it is changed to 4 years, now hockey world cup tournament held once every four year. The 15th edition of Men's Hockey World Cup 2023 Tournament will held in India from 13 January. The grand final of Men's Hockey World Cup 2023 will be played at Kalinga stadium in Bhubaneswar on 29 January 2023. Hockey world cup winners list for both men's and women's tournaments is given below.

Hockey World Cup Winners List from 1971 to 2023 [Men]

The first edition of men's hockey world cup was hosted by Spain in 1971. Pakistan won the first title by beating Spain 1-0. India was at third place in first edition of men's world cup. Hockey world cup winners list from 1971 to 2024 is given below.

  • 23px Flag of Pakistan.svg Pakistan - 4 times 1971, 1978, 1982, 1994)
  • 23px Flag of the Netherlands.svg Netherlands - 3 times (1973, 1990, 1998)
  • 23px Flag of Australia %28converted%29.svg Australia - 3 times (1986, 2010, 2014)
  • 23px Flag of Germany.svg Germany - 2 times (2002, 2006*)
  • 23px Flag of India.svg India - 1 times (1975)
  • 23px Flag of Belgium %28civil%29.svg Belgium - 1 times (2018)
EditionYearWinner CountryRunner UpFinale Score3rd PlaceVenue
11971Pakistan Spain1-0India Barcelona, Spain
21973NetherlandIndia 2-2
GermanyAmstelveen, Netherlands
31975India Pakistan 2-1GermanyKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
41978Pakistan Netherland3-2AustraliaBuenos Aires, Argentina
51982Pakistan Germany3-1AustraliaBombay, India
61986AustraliaEngland2-1GermanyLondon, England
71990NetherlandPakistan 3-1AustraliaLahore, Pakistan
81994Pakistan Netherland1-1
AustraliaSydney, Australia
91998NetherlandSpain3-2GermanyUtrecht, Netherlands
102002GermanyAustralia2-1NetherlandKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
112006GermanyAustralia4-3SpainMonchengladbach, Germany
122010AustraliaGermany2-1NetherlandNew Delhi, India
132014AustraliaNetherland6-1ArgentinaThe Hague, Netherlands
AustraliaBhubaneswar, India
152023TBDTBD-TBDBhubaneswar & Rourkela, India
162026TBDTBD-TBDWavre, Belgium & Amstelveen, Netherlands
Hockey World Cup Winners List 2023

Also Check

Hockey World Cup Teams List 2023

Hockey World Cup Winners List [Women]

Women's hockey world cup is organized once every four year by International Hockey Federation. The first edition of women hockey world cup was held at Mandelieu, France in 1974. In first edition, Netherland beat Argentina by 1-0. The 15th edition which held in Terrassa, Spain & Amstelveen, was won by Netherlands beating Argentina by 3-1 score. Out of 15 titles, Netherland has won 9 titles of Women's Hockey World Cup. Women's FIH Hockey World Cup winners list from 1974 to 2023 is given below.

Edition YearWinnerRunner-upFinale Score
2nd1976West GermanyArgentina2–0
3rd1978NetherlandsWest Germany1–0
4th1981West GermanyNetherlands1–1
Penalty strokes
6th1986NetherlandsWest Germany3–0
Penalty strokes
Women's FIH Hockey World Cup Winners list

For more details visit official website of International Hockey Federation (FIH)