Indian Chief of Army Staff (CoAS) List 1947 to 2024 | List of Army Chief of India

List of Army Chief of India in Chronological Order from 1947 to 2024 with their tenure and unit of commission and other details

List of Army Chief of India:- The chief of the Army Staff is the army head of the Indian Armed Forces and is the highest ranking officer to currently in the Indian Army. The COAS is the principal advisor to the Minister of Defence on matters pertaining the army and is also a key military adviser to the president, the supreme commander.

Chief of Army Staff (COAS) of the Indian Army is the head of the military staff and Chairman of the India Army Board. The position of COAS is always held by a 4 star General. Chief of Army Staff is also member of Strategic Policy Group, Defense Planning Committee, National Security Council and Defense Acquisition Council. He reports to Prime Minister of India, Defense Minister and Chief of Defense Staff. List of Army Chief of India is given below.

List of Army Chief of India

The first Indian Chief of Army Staff was General Sir Robert Lockhart from 15 Aug 1947 to 31 Dec 1947. The complete List of Army Chief of India is given below. List of Army Chief of India from1947 to 2024.

1General Sir Robert Lockhart15 Aug 1947 – 31 Dec 194751st Sikhs
2General Sir Roy Bucher01 Jan 1948 – 14 Jan 19494th Cameronians
3Field Marshal KM Cariappa15 Jan 1949 – 14 Jan 195388th Carnatic Infantry
4General KS Rajendra Sinhji15 Jan 1953 - 14 May 19552nd Lancers (Gardner's Horse)
5General S.M. Srinagesh15 May 1955 - 7 May 195719th Hyderabad Regimen
6General K.S. Thimayya8 May 1957 - 7 May 196119th Hyderabad Regimen
7General P.N. Thapar8 May 1961 - 19 November 19621st Punjab Regiment
8General J.N. Choudhuri20 November 1962 - 7 June 196616th Light Cavalry
9General P.P. Kumaramangalam8 June 1966 - 7 June 1969Regiment of Artillery
10General S.H.F.J. Manekshaw8 June 1969 - 14 January 197312th Frontier Force Regiment
11General G.G. Bewoor15 January 1973 - 31 May 1975Dogra Regiment
12General T.N. Raina1 June 1975 - 31 May 1978Kumaon Regiment
13General O.P. Malhotra1 June 1978 - 31 May 1981Regiment of Artillery
14General K.V. Krishna Rao1 June 1981 - 31 July 1983Mahar Regiment
15General A.S. Vaidya1 August 1983 - 31 January 19869th Deccan Horse
16General K. Sunderji1 February 1986 - 30 April 1988Mahar Regiment
17General V.N. Sharma1 May 1988 - 30 June 199016th Light Cavalry
18General S.F. Rodrigues1 July 1990 - 30 June 1993Regiment of Artillery
19General B.C. Joshi1 July 1993 - 18 November 199464th Cavalry
20General S. Roychowdhury22 November 1994 - 30 September 199720th Lancers
21General V.P.Malik1 October 1997 - 30 September 2000Sikh Light Infantry
22General S. Padmanabhan1 October 2000 - 31 December 2002Regiment of Artillery
23General N.C.Vij1 January 2003 - 31 January 2005Dogra Regiment
24General J.J. Singh01 February 2005 - 30 September 2007Maratha Light Infantry
25General Deepak Kapoor30 September 2007 - 30 March 2010Regiment of Artillery
26General V.K. Singh31 March 2010 - 31 May 2012Rajput Regiment
27General Bikram Singh01 June 2012 - 31 July 2014Sikh Light Infantry
28.General Dalbir Singh Suhag31 July 2014 - 31 December 20165 Gorkha Rifles
29.General Bipin Rawat31 December 2016 - 31 December 201911 Gorkha Rifles
30.General Manoj Mukund Naravane31 December 2019 - 30 April 2022Sikh Light Infantry
31.Manoj Pande30 April 2022- 2022 IncumbentBombay Sappers
List of Army Chief of India

For more details of list of Army Chief of India visit India Army website

Read : Army Rank List and Insignia of India

1 thought on “Indian Chief of Army Staff (CoAS) List 1947 to 2024 | List of Army Chief of India”

Comments are closed.