Uttarakhand District List with New Proposed Districts 2024

Uttarakhand District List with area, division, population and other details, Download PDF of Uttarakhand District List MAP, Also Check List of New Proposed District List and Demand of New Districts in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand District List:- Uttarakhand is located at 28°43' N to 31°27' N Latitude in the north of India. Uttarakhand is a hill State which was formed on 9 November 2000 after its separation from Uttar Pradesh . Uttarakhand share boundaries with Himachal Pradesh in north-west and with Uttar Pradesh in south. Uttarakhand also share boundaries with China (Tibet) in north and with Nepal in the east.

Uttarakhand is spread in 53,483 sq. Km geographic area which is 1.6% of the total geographic area of the Country. The Capital of Uttarakhand is Gairsain in Summer and Dehradun in Winter. Uttarakhand is having 10,086,292 Population with 79.63% . There are 13 Districts in Uttarakhand with 16,793 villages and 115 cities. Uttarakhand District List is given below

State Name Uttarakhand
Formation Date 9 November 2000
Capital Gairsain (in Summer)
Dehradun (in Winter)
Area53,483 sq.km
Male- 5,137,773
Female - 4,948,519
Number of Districts 13
GovernorGurmit Singh
Chief MinsterPushkar Singh Dhami
Symbols of Uttarakhand 1. State Bird - Himalayan Monal
2. State Animal - Alpine Musk Deer
3. State Flower - Brahma Kamal
4. State Tree - Burans
5. State Sport - Football
6. State Instrument - Dhol
7. State Official Language- Hindi
Official Websiteuk.gov.in
Uttarakhand Overview

Uttarakhand District List

In Uttarakhand, there are total 13 District. The Capital of Uttarakhand is Gairsain in Summer and Dehradun in Winter. Uttarakhand District List with Area, Division and Population is given below.

S.NoName of District AreaDivision Population
8Pauri Garhwal5,399Garhwal686,572
11Tehri Garhwal4,080Garhwal616,409
12Udham Singh Nagar 2,908Kumaon1,648,367
Uttarakhand District List

Uttarakhand Districts Map

Uttarakhand Districts List
Uttarakhand Districts List MAP

Uttarakhand Proposed District List

The Government of Uttarakhand has issued an order for creation of 4 new district in Uttarakhand State which are under process.

  1. Didihat
  2. Kotdwar
  3. Ranikhet
  4. Yamunotri

Demand for new districts in Uttarakhand

Here is the List of Demand from time to time for new districts in Uttarakhand State.

  1. Kashipur, from Udham Singh Nagar district
  2. Haldwani, from Nainital district
  3. Roorkee, from Haridwar district
  4. Gairsain, from Chamoli district
  5. Rishikesh, from Dehradun district, Tehri Garhwal district, and Pauri Garhwal district
  6. Chakrata, from Dehradun district
  7. Dharchula, from Pithoragarh district
  8. Dharchula, from Pithoragarh district
  9. Ramnagar, from Nainital district

Also Check :- Uttarakhand New Cabinet Ministers List 2022