Maharashtra Governor List with all details

Check out Maharashtra Governor List from 1947 to 2024 with term of office and other details. Also Check Maharashtra CM List and Maharashtra Cabinet Minister List 2024

Maharashtra Governor List:- Under Article 153 of Indian Constitution, there shall be a Governor of each State. The Governor of Maharashtra State is Bhagat Singh Koshyari who took oath of office as the Governor of Maharashtra from Chief justice of Bombay High Court "Justice Nandrajog" on 5 September 2019 at Raj Bhavna, Mumbai. As per article 155 of Indian Constitution, The Governor of a state is appointed by President of India by warrant under his hand and seal for 5 year term. As per Article 156 of Indian Constitution, the governor shall hold office during the pleasure of the president.

The Governor of Maharashtra is head of government of Maharashtra. Under Article 154 of Indian Constitution, The Executive power of the state shall be vested in the Governor and shall be exercised by him either directly or through officers subordinates to him. The Same person can be appointed Governor of two or more states. The Maharashtra Governor List is given below.

Maharashtra State Overview

Name of StateMaharashtra
Area307,713 sq. km
Nagpur in Winter
Official LanguageMarathi
No. of Districts36
Maharashtra District List Click Here
GovernorBhagat Singh Koshyari
Maharashtra Governor ListClick Here
Maharashtra Cabinet Ministers List 2024Click Here
Chief MinisterEknath Shinde
Deputy Chief MinisterDevendra Fadnavis
Maharashtra CM ListClick Here
Official Website
Maharashtra State Overview

Maharashtra Governor List from 1947 to 2024

The First Governor of Maharashtra state is Raja Sir Maharaj Singh from 6 January 1948 to 30 May 1952. The first Lady Governor of Maharashtra State was Vijaya Laxmi Pandit from 28 November 1962 to 18 October 1964. The Longest serving Governor of Maharashtra State is Dr. P.C Alexander, he served for 9 years, 182 days as governor of Maharashtra from 12 January 1993 to 13 July 2002. Maharashtra Governor List from 1947 to 2024 is given below.

S. NoGovernorOffice Term FromTo
1Raja Sir Maharaj Singh6 January 194830 May 1952
2.Sir Girija Shankar Bajpai30 May 19525 December 1954
3Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab2 March 195514 October 1956
4Sri Prakasa10 December 195616 April 1962
5Dr P. Subbarayan17 April 19626 October 1962
6Vijaya Lakshmi Pandit28 November 196218 October 1964
7Dr. P V Cherian14 November 19648 November 1969
8Ali Yavar Jung26 February 197011 December 1976
9Sri Sadiq Ali30 April 19773 November 1980
10O P Mehra3 November 19805 March 1982
11Idris Hasan Latif6 March 198216 April 1985
Peer Mohammed (acting)19 April 198530 May 1985
12Kona Prabhakara Rao31 May 19852 April 1986
13Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma3 April 19862 September 1987
14Kasu Brahmananda Reddy20 February 198818 January 1990
15Dr. C Subramaniam15 February 19909 January 1993
16Dr. P.C. Alexander12 January 199313 July 2002
17Mohammed Fazal10 October 20025 December 2004
18S.M. Krishna12 December 20045 March 2008
19S.C. Jamir9 March 200822 January 2010
20Kateekal Sankaranarayanan22 January 201024 August 2014
21Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao30 August 20144 September 2019
22Bhagat Singh Koshyari5 September 2019Incumbent
Maharashtra Governor List from 1947 to 2024

Also See List of Upcoming Government Exams 2022