Param Vir Chakra Winners List of all 21 Recipients

Check out list of all 21 recipients of Param Vir Chakra winners list till 2023, all details of Param Vir Chakra and Winners of PVC in Kargil War, Also check Param Vir Chakra winners list who are still active on duty

Param Vir Chakra Winners:- The Param Vir Chakra is Indian highest military decoration, awarded for displaying distinguished acts of valour or showing great courage in the face of danger during wartime. Param Vir Chakra translates as the "Wheel of the Ultimate Brave" and the award is granted for most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy. The Param Vir Chakra was designed by Eva Yuonne Linda Maday-de-Marose, the design of Param Vir Chakra contains purple ribbon and motif of Rishi Dadhichi, it has four replicas of Indra's Vajra made from Dadhici's bones representing his supreme sacrifice, surrounding the national emblem.

The Medal is made of bronze in 1-3/8 inch radius and is suspended from a bar. The back of the medal has written Param Vir Chakra in both English and Hindi language separated by the lotus. The Param Vir Chakra is equivalent to the "Victoria Cross" in the United Kingdom and the "Medal of Honor" in the United States. The list of all 21 recipients of Param Vir Chakra winners is given below.

Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2023

The Param Vir Chakra has been awarded to 21 Indian soldiers, 14 posthumously and 16 from Indo-Pakistani conflicts, 20 have been from Indian army and one has been from the Indian Air Force. The flying officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon was only Indian Air force officer awarded Param Vir Chakra in 1971. The Subedar Major Bana Singh, Subedar Sanjay Kumar and Subedar Yogendra Singh Yadav are the only three living recipients of the Param Vir Chakra award. The only recipients of Param Vir Chakra namely Naib Subedar Sanjay is still active on duty. Major Somnath is the first recipient of the Param Vir Chakra. The complete list of all recipients of Param Vir Chakra winners is given below.

S.NoRecipient's NameArmy RankUnit's NameDate of ActionConflict/War
1Somnath SharmaMajorKumaon Regiment3 November 1947Battle of Badgam
2Jadunath SinghNaikRajput Regiment6 February 1948Indo-Pakistani War of 1947
3Rama Raghoba RaneSecond LieutenantBombay Sappers8 April 1948Indo-Pakistani War of 1947
4Piru SinghCompany Havildar MajorRajputana Rifles17 July 1948Indo-Pakistani War of 1947
5Karam SinghLance NaikSikh Regiment13 October 1948Indo-Pakistani War of 1947
6Gurbachan Singh SalariaCaptain1 Gorkha Rifles5 December 1961Congo Crisis
7Dhan Singh ThapaMajor8 Gorkha Rifles20 October 1962Sino-Indian War
8Joginder SinghSubedarSikh Regiment23 October 1962Sino-Indian War
9Shaitan SinghMajorKumaon Regiment18 November 1962Sino-Indian War
10Abdul HamidCompany Quarter Master HavildarThe Grenadiers10 September 1965Battle of Asal Uttar
11Ardeshir TaraporeLieutenant ColonelPoona Horse11 September 1965Battle of Chawinda
12Albert EkkaLance NaikBrigade of the Guards3 December 1971Battle of Hilli
13Nirmal Jit Singh SekhonFlying OfficerNo. 18 Squadron IAF14 December 1971Indo-Pakistani War of 1971
14Arun KhetarpalSecond LieutenantPoona Horse16 December 1971Battle of Basantar
15Hoshiar Singh DahiyaMajorThe Grenadiers17 December 1971Battle of Basantar
16Bana SinghNaib SubedarJammu and Kashmir Light Infantry23 May 1987Operation Rajiv
17Ramaswamy ParameshwaranMajorMahar Regiment25 November 1987Operation Pawan
18Manoj Kumar PandeyLieutenant11 Gorkha Rifles3 July 1999Operation Vijay
19Yogendra Singh YadavGrenadierThe Grenadiers4 July 1999Battle of Tiger Hill
20Sanjay KumarRiflemanJammu and Kashmir Rifles5 July 1999Kargil War
21Vikram BatraCaptainJammu and Kashmir Rifles7 July 1999Operation Vijay
List of Param Vir Chakra Winners

Also Read: List of Nobel Prize Winners in India

Nobel Prize Winners List 2022 PDF

Param Vir Chakra Winners List with Photo

Check Param Vir Chakra Winners list at Indian Army Government of India official website Download Param Vir Chakra Winners List PDF from below Link.

List of Param Vir Chakra Winners
List of Param Vir Chakra Winners

Read Also:

Bharat Ratna Award List in India

Padma Awards Winners 2022 List PDF

1 thought on “Param Vir Chakra Winners List of all 21 Recipients”

Leave a Comment